Nearly 5 years on....

Look, can I be frank? Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be. Yes you can lie in, have endless lunch hours, do what you want when you want, BUT..... Then what? See what I mean? It's more than existential "who am I?" And more "WTF?" I had 48 years of more or less following a regime - a bit like a soldier really, "Quick turn! Clean your shoes!" I knew where I was. All this self-indulgence feels weird. I've done voluntary work, studied, gained a qualification, gardened, done some travelling, had endless lovely lunches, seen some fabulous exhibitions/plays etc. See? I really have tried. But now there are two of us retired the dynamic has changed again, and whilst most of it is fine I find even more of a lack of focus. So I'm getting a dog. Now that's going to be a focus. In spades. I'll do the dog training and probably meet a few more nice people, I'll walk daily, like I used to and still miss, and do believe we as a family will benefit, particularly Joe. Who said I can't do optimism?? My cup is virtually spilling over.

We pick her up on 28th July, after a week in France. When I find out how to post a video I will. Ditto photos - can't make it happen for some reason..

Found it. This is when Scooter was about 2 months old. She starts out on the right and ends up in the middle:





Comments

Popular Posts